Skip to content
July 9, 2009 / sadhbhanu

Reaction to my film Miss Bertram’s Awakening

 IrishAmericaMagazine
Sep 22, 2008

Sadhbh Walshe’s beautifully executed MISS BERTRAM’S AWAKENING proves that she is a filmmaker to watch out for. A former writer for the CBS series The District, she brings all her production knowledge to bear and manages to give the film the look and feel of big-budget movie – every detail is perfectly drawn. The acting is wonderful, especially Catherine Eaton as the love-lorn secretary, whose perfect comic/tragic timing puts one in mind of Molly Shannon’s performance in Year of the Dog.
Patricia Harty
Founding Editor
Irish America magazine

karenandsean
Sep 18, 2008 09:10PM

What a hilarious and thoroughly delightful film! Catherine Eaton is stunning!

ekwondo
Sep 18, 2008 11:48AM

What a wonderful, charming, funny film! I saw it at the NY screening last night. I absolutely loved it. Brilliant script and direction…a big Bravo to Sadhbh Walshe! Catherine Eaton is so captivating and endearing as Miss Bertram…she lights up the screen with innocent beauty. Anthony Newfield as Mr. Palmer is hilariously believable and fun to watch. I can’t wait for Walshe’s next film….

Grace
Aug 03, 2008 11:06AM

Brilliantly funny movie. Really good comic timing. Loved the scene in the bra shop, it so well captured Miss Bertrams naivete and growing desperation, but in a hilarious fashion.

adamant
Jul 17, 2008 03:22AM

Saw this at the Long Island Film Festival. Very funny film. If Miss Bertram is ever feeling lonely, I’m available!

Oscar_Mountpleasant
Jul 09, 2008 12:20PM

Snappy dialogue, nicely edited and a good ending. Some great little touches. Loved the dance sequence…and Mr Palmer’s lampstand.

Gandalf
May 27, 2008 02:26AM

Extremely well crafted. Entertaining and full of laughs. The score worked really well to highlight Miss Bertram’s mortification. A very funny movie.

JayNee
May 18, 2008 01:32AM

It’s smart, funny and slick. The acting is spot on and the music just right. Despite the the joy and pain there’s no sense of labouring, it just trips lightly along with pace and vigor. By the end i felt that I’d known Janice for a long time and I miss her already. Well done.

MissBertram
Mar 31, 2008 04:52PM

Miss Wurtzel,
I must kindly remind you that you have already used up your vacation quota for this year on your trip to Las Vegas. Also please remember that as your immediate supervisor, all absence requests must go through me. I’m not sure who this “Sadhbh” person is, but kindly keep her out of Palmer Industries’ affairs.
Sincerely,
Miss Bertram
(I refer of course to business affairs.)

Anjelika
Mar 30, 2008 08:01PM

Dear Sadhbh,

I’d love to sojourn to Cairo and escape the nightmare that is my current employ. Could you possibly write me into traveling amid the reels to Egypt, so that I may find my Prince and live happily ever after with a man that truly is “into me”? (Office Bob excluded, as his love is ever-so sincere!)

My undying gratitude would of course be included…

Yours,

Anjelika Wurtzel

kimschultzkim
Feb 29, 2008 10:11PM

Eaton is divine. the movie is grand. Don’t Miss this chance at a great indie flick!

MissBertram
Feb 27, 2008 05:05PM

Before I begin, I would like to make it known that I am not a fan of this new age obsession with blogging. It seems to me that blogging is merely an excuse for uneducated degenerates to â��postâ�� their inane and generally useless snippets of information on the Interweb with a complete disregard for basic spelling and grammar – replacing commas with LOLs and full stops with smiling faces made out of brackets and semi-colons. If Barbara York of the Yorktown Secretarial Academy were still alive, she would turn in her grave. But we all have our tolerance levels and I have reached mine. As many of you know, my name has been somewhat derided of late and I am forced to defend myself with the only means at my disposal. As if it were not enough that the unfortunate incident involving Mr. Palmer and his divorce lawyer was taken completely out of context, now my upcoming trip to Cairo is the subject of vicious rumor and innuendo. I would like to make it clear here and now that I am merely interested in the cultural and historic nature of the region and as I have not taken a holiday since 1997 and the 86 days of vacation I have accrued are due to expire at the end of this year, I believe I am entitled to this small indulgence. As for this nonsense regarding Mr. Sharif, Palmer Investmentâ��s overseas delegate to the Egyptian commission, I will not dignify it with a response. Suffice to say that the evening he and I worked late at the office was purely to ensure that his travel papers were in order and as Mr. Palmer was amusing himself at the golf course, who else was to deal with the situation? I had no idea that Mrs. Sharif was waiting for him at the Four Seasonâ��s Restaurant and would of course have returned her calls if our phone lines had been in working order. If anyone has any other questions on the subject, please direct them to Mr. Sharif; I have nothing further to say on the matter.

rabiddolphin
Feb 21, 2008 11:54AM

Well done! A terrific storyline with a clever twist � fun to watch � leaves you wanting to see the next episode (or a full feature). Can�t wait to see this short turn festival heads in the near future.

ohm
Feb 12, 2008 10:58AM

direction and casting are A1. The narrative’s well paced development makes for an enjoyable ride for the viewer while leading to GREAT climax. (which I was not expecting :-)!
attention to detail wonderful.nothing missed. DONT STRAP ‘EM DOWN HONEY–
LOVED the lingerie store scene.what other projects do you have in the pipeline?
any plans to show this at U.S. festivals?

KPizarro
Feb 07, 2008 06:42AM

This is a great short. I hope that someone picks it up and it gets made into a feature. Or underwrites the director so that her next foray is a feature, whatever it is. Ms. Walshe is someone to keep an eye out for. I’m looking forward to her next.

jackinthebox
Feb 06, 2008 01:06PM

Cool movie. liked the 70s feel and quirky dialog. nice sting in the tail too that you don’t expect.

donnaquixote
Feb 02, 2008 08:33AM

Hilarious movie from beginning to end. I really loved it. Ms. Bertram represents the uncertain, scared side in all of us. And to watch her transform is hope for those of us who think it’s too late or there is no point in trying. Great acting all round. Wonderful direction – my favorite scene is the dance sequence. And kudos to the composer too. Nice job team!

Discerning
Jan 28, 2008 12:56PM

Just wonderful! I was luck enough to get a sneak preview, Lets hope there will be more episides before long.
Discerning

Leave a Reply

